Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

Linux in the IT Dept

Ok, so I thought I’d post my usage of my Linux system. I actually use two systems in my day-to-day job. I have a Windows XP Tablet laptop, so I can do my network layouts, drawings, meeting notes, brainstorming, etc. I also use it as my primary Windows workstation, since some companies (blehhh) only develop windows programs.

I also have a Linux laptop, which I do all my troubleshooting and general day-to-day tasks. Below, you’ll see a screenshot. I have split the screen into 4 types of programs, and 2 other items.

  • Office Tools
    • OpenOffice 2.x, which does my Excel,
      Word, and PowerPoint files. No one in the office knows I use this
      instead of MS Office. Sneaky, huh? Which proves it works.
    • Internet ExplorerUghhh. Some websites still require IE 5.x
    • Dia – My Diagramming tool. It doesn’t hold a candle to Visio, but it works in a pinch
    • Blender – This is really for my more fancy diagrams, when I want to WOW someone with my 3D diagrams and flowcharts.
  • Development and Reporting
    • Redhat
      Developer Studio
      (built on Eclipse) – This gives me my reporting
      studio, and few other items, such as JBoss application developement.
    • NetBeans
      6 Beta 1
      – This is where the majority of my java application
      development resides. Both desktop applications, as well as, web
      applications.
  • Usability Tools
    • Gimp – Photoshop for Linux. I used Gimp to create the desktop screenshot you see.
    • Kontact – This is basically Outlook for KDE. It does my email, calendar, to-do, news feeds, etc
    • Kate – Advanced Text editor
    • Konversation – IRC client. Nice to have, when I need some extra brainpower on some difficult troubleshooting challenges.
    • Wink – Used to create my screencasts, which I import into my videos for training.
    • Kopete – MSN, Jabber, AIM..etc
  • Administration Tools
    • Remote Desktop and VNC
    • RTMT – Cisco’s Real Time Monitor Tool for Cisco Call Manager (yep… it runs on Linux!)
    • Nessus
      Scanner
      – I haven’t used this much, but plan to in the future. It
      allows me to scan for known vulnerabilities beit, Cisco or Windows. It
      also automatically downloads new vulnerability definitions regularly.
    • NMap – Security Auditing, inventory, etc.
    • Wireshark – Network Traffic Analyzer

I
also have two other items to show. On the left side, you can see I
have access to my remote files located on servers. I also am using the
Cisco VPN Client to work from anywhere. Pretty snazzy?

Okay,
well, it’s not THAT exciting, but it does show that Linux is slowly
creeping to be a good desktop tool for the business, though, I do not
believe it’s ready for the end-users yet.

UPDATE:  I forgot to add, that I’m also running Google Desktop.  That’s a lifesaver, when I’m searching through over 2GB worth of PDF files!

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

