Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

New Antivirus Vendor?

When I first started my job at my current company last year, I was amazed on the security products they were using.  Keep in mind, that the company I work for, made several acquisitions over the last few years.  So, we have locations using McAfee, Computer Associates, Trend Micro, and Symantec.  Not only is this an administrative nightmare, but it’s not cost-effective.  So, for budgets, I placed some money to consolidate.

It turns out, there is a U.S. company called ESET, that not only has a good solution, but is priced extremely reasonable, in comparison.  I’ve never heard of them, and was embarrassed when our Swedish division told me about them, and I didn’t know anything about it.

In my eyes, deciding a vendor isn’t really about virus definitions anymore.  That’s become a trivial process.  For me, the deciding factor for choosing a solution are the following:

  • Central control of policies and processes (including emergency updates and scans)
  • Central Reporting
  • Built-in Reports
  • Ability to customize reports
  • Database to use 3rd party reporting
  • Easy rollout (including pushing software to new clients)
  • Small footprint on the client

I am starting to demo their products for the time being.  The only downside is that they do NOT offer Macintosh solutions.  Well, that won’t break my heart, since less than 1% of our network is Mac, just disappointing that they didn’t choose to support the best OS out there (shameless plug). 

However, they do offer solutions for Linux, Windows, Domino and Exchange servers, etc.  Worth checking out!

~~Aaron

Leave a Reply

