Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

Swearing at your co-workers? Good?

Rajan Sodhi found a very interesting story, where a UK study showed it could be beneficial to swear at work, in lueue of special circumstances.

I do agree with this. While, you probably won’t hear me cussing-out my boss, or swearing in front of my CFO anytime soon, there are some benefits to swearing to my colleagues.

I feel it expresses feelings much more so, than the socially-accepted words such as “Oh fooey”, or “Hooray”. Sometimes, I just want to say, “F*&! it, I’m tired of this sh*&!”. That seems to express my frustration more so than “Oh drat, I don’t think I can do this anymore”.

And generally, when feelings are expressed in a deeper fashion, social-networking dictates a special bond or camaraderie with another co-worker. Of course, I could just be full of ……… ((ahem))…….. nevermind.

Actually, when I first read the story, there was one person that came to mind, on top of anyone else on my list…. and it’s a pretty long list (I was in the Navy).  Anyone guess who???  hahahah

Cheers!

3 responses to “Swearing at your co-workers? Good?

  1. Kevin October 18, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    I used to have this boss in Ohio named Bill. He was always cussing… cusing at his superiors and sub-periors. What an fn’ ass m0th$%r f&^*r!!!

  2. Bob Vance July 10, 2008 at 11:01 am

    I think swearing in front of your coworkers is fine, not AT them. Also there are some easily offended to it’s a thin fine line. But it feels much better to F*CK than ‘what the flip?’ That just sounds gay!

Leave a Reply

