Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

Microsoft Project on Linux!

Okay, well, it may not be as featureful as MS Project, but you can now finally open MPP (Microsoft Project Files) on Linux!  I am so stoked!  One more notch off the Microsoft Toolbelt!  I’m telling you… now all I need is a Visio-type of app, and I’m golden!

Yes, there are decent diagramming tools out there, and I use Dia quite a bit.  However, I still have LOADS of Visio diagrams out there, and would be nice to open them from time to time.

Anyway, where was I?  Ummm… duhh… Microsoft Project on LInux!  Yeah!  Okay, so the project is called OpenProj (clever name) and does pretty much everything I need it to do.  See the screenshots below (click for larger version):

This screenshot is from opening a previous MS Project 2003 file from my windows machine.


This screenshot was taken from the OpenProj website.

Quoted directly from the website:

OpenProj is ideal for desktop project management and is available on Linux, Unix, Mac or Windows. It even opens existing Microsoft or Primavera files. OpenProj shares the industry’s most advanced scheduling engine with Project-ON-Demand and has Gantt Charts, Network Diagrams (PERT Charts), WBS and RBS charts, Earned Value costing and more.

SAAAWEEEETTT!!!!  Rock on!

Cheers

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 responses to “Microsoft Project on Linux!

  1. Doug January 9, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    It DOES work. I just downloaded the .deb for Ubuntu 7.10. Very nice, though I can’t find an option to save the file as mpp.

  2. Aaron Paxson January 9, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    No, not mpp. However, it does save it to an MS Project 2003 xml file, which you can open using MS Project 2003/2007.

    -AP

  3. Jason R September 1, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I have been looking for something compatible for day. Now I can stay with Linux while completing my Masters. Awesome…thanx!

Leave a Reply

