Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

It’s the Network. No it’s NOT!

Hasn’t everyone received this reason for practically every problem that exists in business? My computer won’t open Outlook…. It’s the Network! My system is running slow… It’s the Network! My chair won’t swivel… It’s the Network! It’s getting ridiculous.

Quite a frustrating incident today. One of our database servers was running incredibly slow. A user calls me up informing me about it. Upon looking at the server, their process was pegging the CPU at 100%.

I merely told them there wasn’t much I can do. The server is giving them everything it’s got (Quoting Scotty with a scottish accent). I was then told, “Well, we do this every month, and it’s never done this before”. I merely said (paraphrasing, of course), “I don’t know what to tell you. Maybe you have more calculations, data, etc etc”.

I then realized, that this user was attempting to train me in the ways of Net-Fu, and why it is the Wireless network that was causing the slow down. I must have been trained well in the Net-Fu skills, as that was a VERY enlightening experience for me. What level of ascension allows CPU cycles to be affected by Wireless RF signals? I need more training………..

Powered by ScribeFire.

5 responses to “It’s the Network. No it’s NOT!

  1. Pingback: Still More CCIE Blogs « CCIE Pursuit

  2. Mike November 6, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Amen, brother. As an IT guy myself, I know how often folks like the blame the network for the most random of problems.

  3. jps61974 November 7, 2007 at 9:35 am

    you’re absolutely correct! we share the same problems, pal. if it’s nay consolation, I’d like to say you’re not the only one.

  4. Kevin December 12, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    I usually like to prove them correct by disconnecting their network cable from of the patch panel. “No internet either??? You’re right it is a network issue!”

  5. Aaron Paxson December 13, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! That’s a good one, Kevin! I love it.

Leave a Reply

