Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

The Cisco 3750-Metro swtich?

Well, I’m about 4-6 weeks out from finishing my co-lo project.  We are moving some of our critical servers and phone system to a hardened datacenter facility.  In doing so, Cisco kept insisting that we purchase the 3750-Metro switches.  I was just going to get the regular 3750’s.

Well, I guess the 3750-Metros does have some nice features, but not all of it is useful.  For example, they were telling me, “But, Aaron….. this switch does HEIRARCHICAL QoS.”.  In lamens terms, it allows you to merge different QoS policies.  But that only helps when you are the provider with multiple customers and different SLA’s.  I’m the customer.  Why would I need that?

The packet shaping option is kind of nice, I’ll admit.  But, in order to take advantage of it, you MUST uplink into an SFP port.  They are the only ports that can use the advanced IP feature set.

I’ll let you know more, once I receive the switches, which should be this week, actually.  Does anyone have a comment on the 3750-Metros?

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 responses to “The Cisco 3750-Metro swtich?

  1. Kevin November 14, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Hey Aaron… I haven’t done anything (or heard of) with Metros.

    BTW… do you have any config examples of VLANs I can look at? I purchased a Cisco Catalyst 3750. I want to try out some VLAN configurations.

  2. Aaron Paxson November 14, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Kevin,

    I’ll try to get a blog about VLAN’s and Inter-VLAN routing in the next day or two. In the mean time, here is something to munch on.

  3. Jim November 15, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Stacking is not supported with Metro series Switches. They’re useful only if you need to run MPLS, but that’s only supported on the ES ports.

  4. Pingback: 3750-metro frustrations. Worth it?? « Teneo !!!

Leave a Reply

