Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

Cleveland – MAN (Datacenter recolation)

Well, I’m off to Cleveland this week. I’ll be bringing up our first MAN to a new co-located datacenter at Expedient.  We currently have one cabinet there, but look to getting a second cabinet in a few more months, depending on how great it works out.

The only thing I do not like about the 3750-metro switches is that they don’t have a netflow export option.  Personally, I think they should.  Being a multi-layer switch, and intended to be on each side of a MAN, the netflow export would be perfect to analyze the traffic across the MAN link.

What do you all think?  Agree to disagree?

For me, it will be a learning experience.  This will be my first time using the Cisco 3750-metro series switches (I’ve used the 3750’s before but the metro’s allow more fine-grained control on QoS and packet-shaping, though, I lose the Gb interfaces).

I’ll need that QoS and packet-shaping skils, since we only have a 20M fiber link between the two locations, and we’ll be sending voice and video through it, on top of regular data traffic.

To be honest, I’m not that confident in my QoS knowledge.  Yes, I know the fundamentals (at least I think I do…. uh oh), but I’m always nervous I’ll forget one tiny little thing, which will cause disastrous results.  Ah well…. I feel that way everytime I touch a keyboard key.

Wish me luck!

Technorati Tags: , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 responses to “Cleveland – MAN (Datacenter recolation)

  1. MLK January 23, 2008 at 8:03 am

    What is surprising with Netflow & the 3750 series, it’s that all the commands related to Netflow are accepted but nothing happen…
    It’s very frustrating.

  2. Aaron Paxson January 23, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Ha! No kidding? I didn’t even think to try. If the IOS accepts the commands, then, one would think it would be an IOS upgrade then? Though, there aren’t any that I can find.

  3. mlit January 23, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Apparently this is due to hardware limitations on the 3750 and 3750-E platforms. I was curious and took a look on the NetPro Forums. surprising they didn’t build this into the new 3750-Es..

    http://forum.cisco.com/eforum/servlet/NetProf?page=netprof&forum=Expert%20Archive&topic=Network%20Infrastructure&CommCmd=MB%3Fcmd%3Dpass_through%26location%3Doutline%40%5E1%40%40.1dde1bfa/26#selected_message

  4. Aaron Paxson January 23, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    So, I’m guessing “hardware limitation” means not enough CPU for processing or enough memory for caching? Bummer.

    I mean, I can understand on a regular 3750. However, the 3750-metro was MEANT to be on either side of a metro ethernet link. With all it’s advanced QoS and packet shaping, they should have thought of it. How would you know what to classify without traffic accounting?

    A brief oversight, I think……

Leave a Reply

