Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

New Cisco Certification

Cisco has created a new certification called CCDE (Cisco Certified Design Expert).  So, what’s so different between a Design Professional (CCDP) and a Design Expert (CCDE)?

Seniority and includes Business strategies, says Cisco:

“There’s not going to be a lot of CCDEs walking the street,” said David
Bump, a portfolio manager with Cisco. “It’s a very senior credential;
it’s a very exclusive credential.”

Basically, you will take the technical knowledge of the CCDP (and other certifications), but rather than design a technical network around specific requirements, you would be the one to create those requirements, maintain budgets, and make sure those requirements fits the business needs, not just the technical needs.

The 2-hour qualification exam is released today at Pearson VUE centers.  Once you have qualified, you will be able to take the 8-hour long Proctored exam, made available this fall.

No doubt, many CCIE’s will try to get this “higher” status.  Me?  Well, I’ve been using and building Cisco networks for almost 7 years now.  I still don’t have my CCNA!!  No time for the weary, I guess.  Yeah yeah… I know I should…..

For those of you, who didn’t know that, I probably just knocked my credibility down by 2 notches or so.  Sorry to let you down.

Link to Referenced work:

Cisco announces Design Expert Certification for network engineers

Cool…

Technorati Tags: , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

One response to “New Cisco Certification

  1. Milton Moore January 26, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I just finished up my second IE in Voice this past October. The CCDE sure seems tempting. I doubt my wife would be very excited if I decided to for it. 🙂

    I am interested in knowing what the lab exam is going to look like.

    Aaron, Great Blog!

    Milton
    CCIE (R/S & Voice)

Leave a Reply

