Teneo !!!

Aaron’s blog on Networking, and Enterprise Technology

Access Cisco’s rommon from minicom

Minicom is to Linux/Unix as Hyperterminal is to Windows.

In minicom, the key-combination is ctrl+a f

7 responses to “Access Cisco’s rommon from minicom

  1. jk February 24, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    You can also use screen, as I do in OS X.

    Something like this:
    screen /dev/tty.KeySerial1 9600

    with a keyspan serial adapter works nicely.

  2. Aaron Paxson February 25, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Fantastic, Jk!

    What is the “Break” key-combination in Screen?

  3. jk February 27, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Well, with Screen, it’s unique. You have to execute the screen command (by default ^a) and THEN execute the break, which is, at least in my version, ^B

    It seems to also show that I can use ^b instead – so case indifferent.

    So, it’ll actually a multi keystroke, ^a ^b

    I finally figured that out and it made my life so much easier. Of course, screen is horrible for keeping histories of what is scrolling by and reusing it. It’s not something I can use for a ‘show tech’ really, unless I’m logging the session with terminal, which I don’t do by default.

    But it’s built in and every mac laptop has the ability to do it.

  4. jk February 27, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Oh, and ^a ? will give you screen’s help page.

  5. Aaron Paxson February 28, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Excellent! I tried “screen” on my mac at home over the weekend. You’re right.. you lose history, which is a major PITA. But still, quite cool.

    Had a problem exiting, though. I basically used ^A Z to exit, but apparently, that just brings me back to my terminal. By screen process was still running in the background from ‘ps aux | grep screen’ so I had to ‘kill -9’ it.

  6. jk February 28, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I just close the terminal window in question. With Apple’s shortcut keys for terminal, it’s trivial to open a new one.

    And I’m sure there’s a way to make a little shortcut to a script to just click and open a new one as well. I’m only on console a few hours a week these days, not like before when it was 30 hours a week, so I don’t bother making it bette.r 😉

  7. Aaron Paxson February 28, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Excellent! Thanks for the outstanding discussion!

Leave a Reply

